نفاذ

تهدف نفاذ إلى أن تكون مصدراً أساسياً لنشر مقالات حول آخر الابتكارات في مجال نفاذ تكنولوجيا المعلومات. تصدر المجلة فصلياً باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية.

“WaveFont” تجسيد المعلومات والمشاعر الصوتية في النص المكتوب

“WaveFont” تجسيد المعلومات والمشاعر الصوتية في النص المكتوب

الابتكار

يقتصر النص التوضيحي التقليدي (النص على الفيديو) على عرض ما يتم التحدث به في الفيديو فقط، أما التكنولوجيا المبتكرة WaveFont”” فتجسد لك معلومات عن الكيفية التي تم من خلالها نطق الكلمات والعبارات. لقد تم اختراع “WaveFont” من قبل البروفيسور الدكتور ماتياس وولفيل وأنجيلو ستيتز والدكتور تيم شلبي في مشروع بحث فني. ونظرًا للتعليقات الإيجابية للغاية، قرر الدكتور تيم شلبي إتاحة هذا الحل لجمهور أوسع من خلال تسويق وتطوير “WaveFont” وذلك بصفته كمؤسس ورئيس تنفيذي لشركة “Silicon Surfer”. ولأول مرة تمكن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع من التعرف على معلومات ومشاعر من الصوت (التشديد اللفظي، والتوقف المؤقت والطول). إن فكرة تجسيد المعلومات والمشاعر في “WaveFont” بديهية للغاية: فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما يتحدث شخص ما بصوت أعلى، يصبح الخط الذي كتبت فيه الحروف أكثر سماكةً، وعندما يتحدث البعض بشكل أبطأ يصبح أكبر عرضاً:

WaveFont_generation
مثال على تجسيد المعلومات والمشاعر في WaveFont

وبعد وقت قصير، يتم نقل المعلومات والمشاعر بشكل أفضل بكثير من النص التوضيحي التقليدي الأمر الذي يدعم إمكانية النفاذ والدمج والشمول.

الخدمات

تقدم شركة “Silicon Surfer” خدمة إصدار النص التوضيحي بشكل “”WaveFont تلقائيًا من أجل تمكين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع من التعرف على خصائص الصوت. وبغرض إنشاء النص توضيحي بشكل “WaveFont”، وتقوم “Silicon Surfer” بمعالجة ملفات الترجمة التقليدية أو النسخ مع ملف الصوت.

التطبيقات

إن ” WaveFont ” قابل للتطبيق على نطاق واسع جداً ويمكن استخدامه في لغات وأنظمة كتابة جديدة. وهو متوفر حتى الآن باللغات الإنجليزية والإسبانية والألمانية، وقد اتخذت الإجراءات الأولى لنقلها إلى العربية.

WaveFont-captions
أمثلة على النص التوضيحي “WaveFont”

النظرة المستقبلية

سيستفيد عدد كبير من الأشخاص من المعلومات الإضافية الواردة في النص التوضيحي: فوفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، يعاني 466 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم من ضعف السمع. وهو ما يشكل 5 ٪ من سكان العالم. وبسبب التغيير السكاني، يقدر أنه بحلول عام 2050 ، سيكون أكثر من 900 مليون شخص يعانون من ضعف السمع. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه التكنولوجيا والتصور الجديد ليسا مهمين فقط للأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع. فعلى سبيل المثال، هناك 244 مليون مهاجر يعيشون في بلد آخر غير مكان ولادتهم. ويحتاج كثير منهم إلى تعلم لغة جديدة. وهنا سيساعدهم النص التوضيحي بشكل “”WaveFont لأن تحليلات شركة ” “Silicon Surfer أثبتت أن تجسيد “WaveFont” للمشاعر والمعلومات أكثر سهولة بكثير من النسخ الصوتية مثل الأبجدية الصوتية الدولية. ووفقًا لبرنامج أمازون للفيديو Amazon Prime Video””، فإن 30٪ من المستخدمين يشاهدون ملفات الفيديو مرفقة بنص توضيحي ولكن 20٪ فقط منهم يعانون من ضعف السمع.

إلى حد بعيد، يمكن العثور على أكبر عدد من الأشخاص الذين سيستفيدون من شكل “WaveFont” على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، حيث نجد أن 85 ٪ من مستخدمي الفيسبوك النشطين يشاهدون مقاطع فيديو بدون صوت. ويشكل هؤلاء 2 مليار شخص. كما يدعم “WaveFont” الهدفان الثالث والرابع من أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة 2030 وهما (الصحة الجيدة والرفاه) و (التعليم الجيد).

الأفق في قطر

يعاني 5.2٪ من سكان قطر من ضعف السمع (Girotto et al.، 2014). ويمكن لـصيغة محتوى “”WaveFont تحسين تجربة التلفزيون والفيديو والسينما بالنسبة لهم نظرًا لأنهم يتلقون معلومات لم يتلقوها سابقاً، وسيصبحون قادرين على تخيل كيفية تحدث الممثلين المفضلين لديهم بشكل أفضل.
وهناك مجال آخر مثير للاهتمام لاستخدام صيغة المحتوى النصي التوضيحي “WaveFont” في قطر وهو كأس العالم 2022. إن هذه التقنية مناسبة بشكل خاص لتجسيد المشاهد المثيرة للمشاعر. ويمكن العثور على هذه المشاهد في لمباريات، وأيضًا في الإعلانات التجارية ومقاطع الفيديو التوضيحية حول الحدث. وتشمل مجالات التطبيق الأخرى نظم المعلومات ولوحات العرض ومكتبات الوسائط التي تحتوي على مقاطع فيديو. فمع WaveFont” “، يمكن لقطر أن تكون رائدة وتقدم بطولةً أكثر شمولًا وقابلية للنفاذ.
في مؤتمر اللغة العربية 2019 في معهد قطر لأبحاث الحوسبة، قدم الدكتور تيم شلبي، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة “Silicon Surfer” ، تقنية “WaveFont “وخطواته الأولى لنقلها إلى العربية.

Tim-Schlippe
الدكتور تيم شيلبي في معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة (QCRI)

الخطوات التالية

لتوفير “WaveFont” في قطر، تخطط شركة “Silicon Surfer” للمشاركة في برنامج مركز مدى للابتكار. و يتضمن ذلك نقل التكنولوجيا إلى اللغة العربية، وتحليل تأثيرها وفائدتها في قطر ، وتقييم مجالات التطبيق، وخاصة بالنسبة لكأس العالم 2022، لدمجها واستخدامها في أنظمة المعلومات ولوحات العرض ومكتبات الوسائط في مقاطع الفيديو وتوسيع نطاقها لتشمل المزيد من اللهجات العربية.

Share this

Nafath

Nafath aims to be a key information resource for disseminating the facts about latest trends and innovation in the field of ICT Accessibility. It is published in English and Arabic languages on a quarterly basis and intends to be a window of information to the world, highlighting the pioneering work done in our field to meet the growing demands of ICT Accessibility and Assistive Technology products and services in Qatar and the Arab region.

WaveFont – Visualization of information and emotions from the voice in captions

WaveFont – Visualization of information and emotions from the voice in captions

Innovation

While traditional captions only reflect what is spoken in an utterance, the innovative technology WaveFont additionally visualizes information of how it is spoken. WaveFont has been invented by Prof. Dr. Matthias Wölfel, Angelo Stitz and Dr. Tim Schlippe in an art research project. Due to the very positive feedback, Dr. Tim Schlippe decided to make it available for a broader audience by commercializing and developing WaveFont further as the founder and CEO of Silicon Surfer. Particularly, hearing-impaired people receive for the first time information and emotions from the voice (stresses, pauses, length) which they were excluded from. The WaveFont visualization is very intuitive: For example, when someone speaks louder, the font gets bolder, when some speaks slower, it gets wider:

WaveFont_generation
WaveFont generation.

After a short time information and emotions are much better transported than with conventional captions supporting accessibility, integration and inclusion.


Service

In order to enable hearing-impaired people to receive the voice characteristics, Silicon Surfer offers a service to automatically produce WaveFont captions. To generate WaveFont captions, Silicon Surfer processes traditional subtitle files or the transcriptions together with the sound file.

Applications

WaveFont is universally applicable for different genres and can be ported to new languages and writing systems. So far it is available in English, Spanish and German and first actions have been taken to port it to Arabic.

WaveFont-captions
WaveFont captions.

Potential in the world

A huge number of people would benefit from additional information in captions: According to the World Health Organization, 466 million people worldwide have disabling hearing loss. This is 5% of world’s population. Due to the demographic change it is estimated that by 2050, over 900 million people will have hearing impairments. However, this new technology and visualization is not only interesting for hearing impaired people: For example, there are 244 million migrants living in a country other than where they were born. Many of them need to learn a new language. WaveFont captions would help them since Silicon Surfer’s analyses have demonstrated that the WaveFont visualization is much more intuitive than phonetic transcriptions such as the International Phonetic Alphabet. According to Amazon Prime Video, 30% of the users watch with captions but only 20% of those are hearing impaired. But by far the largest number of people who would benefit from WaveFont captions are on social media: 85% of the active Facebook users watch videos without sound. These are 2 billion people. WaveFont supports the UN sustainable development goals 3 (good health and well-being) and 4 (quality education) of the agenda 2030.

Potential in Qatar

5.2% of the population in Qatar suffers from hearing loss (Girotto et al., 2014). WaveFont can improve their TV, video and cinema experience since they receive information they were excluded from and are able to imagine better how their favorite actors speak.

A very interesting application for the WaveFont technology in Qatar is also during the FIFA World Cup. WaveFont is particularly suitable for visualizing emotional scenes. Such emotional scenes can be found in the sportscasts of the matches, but also in the commercials and explanatory videos about the event. Further application areas are information systems, display boards, and media libraries with videos. With WaveFont, Qatar can be a pioneer and offer a much more accessible and inclusive event.

At the conference ArabicSpeech 2019 at Qatar Computing Research Institute, Dr. Tim Schlippe, CEO of Silicon Surfer, presented the WaveFont technology and his first steps to port it to Arabic.

Tim-Schlippe
Dr. Tim Schlippe from Silicon Surfer at QCRI.

Next steps

To make WaveFont available in Qatar, Silicon Surfer plans to participate in Mada’s Innovation Program. This includes to port the technology to Arabic, to analyze its impact and benefit in Qatar, to evaluate application areas, especially for the FIFA World Cup 2022, to integrate and use it in information systems, display boards, media libraries with videos and to port it to further Arabic dialects and languages.

Share this