نفاذ

تهدف نفاذ إلى أن تكون مصدراً أساسياً لنشر مقالات حول آخر الابتكارات في مجال نفاذ تكنولوجيا المعلومات. تصدر المجلة فصلياً باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية.

أحدث الحلول التكنولوجية لذوي الإعاقات السمعية

أحدث الحلول التكنولوجية لذوي الإعاقات السمعية

غالبًا ما يواجه الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات السمعية قيودًا عديدة في النفاذ إلى التكنولوجيا في حياتهم اليومية. فمن الصعب على هؤلاء الأشخاص التواصل وإدراك المعلومات مقارنةً بغيرهم.

من أجل تلقي المعلومات وتوصيلها، يعتمد الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات السمعية غالبًا على الأجهزة المرئية واللمسية. ويوفر استخدام التكنولوجيا المساعدة لهذه الفئة العديد من الحلول لمشاكلهم من خلال توفير مستوى صوت أعلى (للأشخاص الذين يعانون من صعوبات في السمع)، وملاحظات عن طريق اللمس، ومعلومات مرئية وتحسين النفاذ إلى التكنولوجيا.
تهدف التكنولوجيا المساعدة في مجال دعم وتمكين ذوي الاعاقات السمعية لتضخيم الأصوات المحيطة بالشخص أو لتضخّيم صوت معين يثير اهتمام الشخص، أو توفير طريقة بديلة للنفاذ إلى المعلومات عبر الرؤية أو الاهتزاز. ويمكن تقسيم هذه الحلول التكنولوجية إلى 3 فئات رئيسية:

  1. تكنولوجيا تحسين السمع.
  2. تكنولوجيا تنبيه الفرد.
  3. تكنولوجيا الاتصال.

1- تكنولوجيا تحسين السمع

تتضمن التكنولوجيا المساعدة على السمع أنواع الحلول التي تضخّم الصوت حول الشخص الذي يعاني من صعوبة في السمع. وقد يكون لمساعدات السمع أداة اتصال لاستقبال الإشارات الكهرومغناطيسية. وعندما يقوم شخص ما بتحويل جهاز السمع إلى ملف اتصال عن طريق الضغط على زر في جهاز السمع ، يمكنه سماع أي إشارة مرسلة عبر دائرة التحريض السمعي ويمكن تصنيفها كالتالي:

أ‌) أجهزة الاستماع المساعدة:

وتتضمن ما يسمى “بدوائر التحريض السمعي” التي يتم استخدامها في الأماكن العامة مثل المسارح والفصول الدراسية وقاعات الاجتماعات، إلخ. وعلى سبيل المثال، هناك العديد من الأماكن التي يتم إحاطتها بسلك كبير يحيط بمنطقة من المقاعد متصلة بنظام الصوت. وطالما أن الشخص الذي لديه جهاز السمع يجلس داخل الحلقة سيتم تحويل جهاز السمع إلى برنامج الاتصال عن بعد، وسيكون قادرًا على سماع الإشارة التي تم بثها بوضوح وبشكل مريح. يجوز للشخص الذي يعاني من صعوبة في السمع أيضًا شراء نظام كهذا للعمل مع تلفزيونه في المنزل.

ب) مكبرات الصوت الشخصية:

توفر أجهزة السمع فوائد كبيرة في العديد من البيئات، ولكن في بعض الأحيان يكون الشخص في بيئة لا يمكن أن تساعده فيها أجهزة السمع على حل جميع المشكلات. ففي المواقف التي يكون فيها الكثير من الضجيج في الخلفية أو المواقف التي يجب أن يسمع فيها الشخص ما يريده عبر مسافة كبيرة، قد يكون من الصعب بالنسبة للبعض حتى مع أجهزة السمع سماع الصوت المطلوب. وتعتبر أنظمة الاستماع الشخصية مفيدة في هذه المواقف لمساعدة الشخص على سماع الإشارة المقصودة بالكامل دون ضجيج أو موسيقى الخلفية.

2- تكنولوجيا تنبيه الفرد

يمكن استخدام أنظمة التنبيه لإعلامك أو لإعلام طفلك من ذوي الإعاقات السمعية عند الحاجة إلى اتخاذ إجراء طارئ. فإذا كان شخص ما يرن جرس الباب أو إذا تم تنشيط جهاز إنذار الدخان على سبيل المثال، يمكن استخدام أنظمة التنبيه لإعلامك بالحدث الطارئ. وتتراوح أنواع الإخطارات حسب تفضيلاتك، من الأضواء الساطعة إلى الاهتزاز أو الأصوات.
وتتضمن معظم الهواتف المحمولة السائدة هذه الأيام نظم الإنذار للصم وضعاف السمع. وبالإضافة إلى الهواتف المحمولة، هناك أيضًا ساعات وأساور ذكية يستخدمها الأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان السمع كأجهزة تنبيه.

3- تكنولوجيا الاتصال

لقد سهّل التطور التكنولوجي الطريقة التي يتواصل بها الناس، وبالنسبة لذوي الإعاقات السمعية، فقد ساعدتهم التكنولوجيا كثيراً على التواصل مع بعضهم البعض ومع الأشخاص الآخرين. ونستعرض فيما يلي بعض التقنيات المستخدمة للاتصال من قبل هؤلاء الأشخاص:

أ‌) خدمات التواصل عبر الفيديو

إن خدمات التواصل عبر الفيديو أو الترجمة عن بعد عبر الفيديو هي نوع من خدمات اتصالات الفيديو التي تستخدم أجهزة الاتصال مثل كاميرات الويب أو أجهزة الفيديو لتوفير لغة الإشارة و / أو خدمات الترجمة الصوتية.
في كثير من الحالات، قد يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت للحصول على مترجم فوري وقد لا يكون متاحًا على الفور، وعندها تقوم خدمات التواصل عبر الفيديو بتوفير مترجم فوري. هناك طرفان مشتركان في هذه العملية، الشخص من ذوي الإعاقات السمعية الذي يستخدم الخدمة والمترجم الفوري على الشاشة.
يمكن أن يظهر المترجم على شاشة الكمبيوتر أو الهاتف أو كاميرا الويب. وسيستخدم المترجم الصوت لترجمة حديث شخص ما ويقوم بترجمته عبر لغة الإشارة إلى الشخص الأصم، ثم إذا أراد الأصم أن يقول شيئًا سينقلونه للمترجم عبر الإشارة وسيستخدم المترجم صوته لنقل الرسالة.

ب‌) النص في الوقت الفعلي

ينقل النص في الوقت الفعلي نصًا يمكن للقارئ قراءته على الفور حتى قبل انتهاء كتابة الجملة. وتعد هذه إحدى الطرق التي يستخدمها الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات السمعية للتواصل. ويمكّن للشخص الآخر (المستقبل) قراءة الرسالة على الفور دون انتظار انتهاء كتابتها. ويسمح ذلك للمتحدث بالتكلم بشكل مستمر دون انقطاع أوتوقف مؤقت. لإجراء محادثة مستمرة ، يستخدم مجتمع الصم RTT. TDD devices, تُسمى أحيانًا أجهزة TTY ، تُستخدم عادةً في RTT عبر مكالمة هاتفية عادية. النص عبر IP (VoIP) هو نوع من RTT يستخدم شبكات IP محلية.

ت‌) روبوتات لغة الإشارة

هناك عدة روبوتات في السوق تجعل التواصل مع الصم أكثر سهولة. وقد تم تطوير بعض الروبوتات خصيصا لتعليم الأطفال لغة الإشارة. هناك بعض برامج الروبوت المستخدمة على مواقع الويب أو في التطبيقات لتوصيل الرسائل النصية عن طريق تحويلها إلى لغة الإشارة باستخدام مكتبة مخزنة محليًا أو عبر التخزين السحابي. أحد الأمثلة على ذلك هو “بوحمد” وهو المترجم الفوري للغة الإشارة القطرية.

يدعم مركز “مدى” المبادرات لتطوير الحلول التكنولوجية العربية الرائدة التي تخدم ذوي الإعاقات السمعية. ويطالب هؤلاء الأشخاص بالحلول التكنولوجية التي تدعم لغة الإشارة العربية. و أبرز هذه الحلول هو التكنولوجيا ثلاثية الأبعاد التي يطلق عليها “Avatar” والتي تم استخدامها لتطوير الشخصية الافتراضية “بوحمد” مترجم لغة الإشارة القطرية بدعم من مركز مدى.

Share this

Nafath

Nafath aims to be a key information resource for disseminating the facts about latest trends and innovation in the field of ICT Accessibility. It is published in English and Arabic languages on a quarterly basis and intends to be a window of information to the world, highlighting the pioneering work done in our field to meet the growing demands of ICT Accessibility and Assistive Technology products and services in Qatar and the Arab region.

Technologies for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Technologies for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Those who are deaf or hard of hearing often have several limitations in their daily lives in accessing technology. It is difficult for the deaf or hard of hearing community to communicate and perceive information compared to hearing people.

To receive and communicate information, people with hearing difficulties often rely on visual and tactile devices. The use of assistive technology provides this community with various solutions to their problems by providing higher sound (for people with hearing difficulties), tactile feedback, visual information and improved access to technology.

Assistive technology for the deaf either amplifies the sounds around the person or amplifies a specific sound that interests the person, or it provides an alternative way for accessing the information via vision or vibration. These technologies can be divided into 3 main categories:

  1. Technologies that improve hearing.
  2. Technologies that alert the individual.
  3. Technologies for communication.

1.    Hearing Technologies:

Hearing Assistive Technologies are the types of technologies that amplifies the sound around the person with a hearing difficulty. Hearing aids may have a telecoil to receive electromagnetic signals. When a person switches his hearing aid to a telecoil by pressing a button on the hearing aid, he or she can hear any signal transmitted via an induction loop, and they can be categorized further into:

A. Assistive listening devices:

These includes induction loops that are used in public places like theaters, classrooms, meeting room, etc. For example, there are several venues that are looped, meaning that there is a large wire surrounding an area of seats that is connected to the sound system of that venue. So as long as the person with the hearing aid is seated inside the loop and the hearing aid is switched to the telecoil program, he or she will be able to hear the broadcasted signal clearly and comfortably. The person with hearing difficulty may also purchase a loop system to work with his television at home.

B. Personal amplifiers:

Hearing aids provide great benefits in many environments, but sometimes the person will be in an environment where hearing aids cannot solve all the hearing problems. Situations where there is a lot of background noise or situations in which the person has to hear across a large distance can be difficult for some even with hearing aids. Personal listening systems are useful in these situations to help the person hear the entire intended signal without the majority of the background music.

Personal listening systems can be used with the hearing aids by using a remote or neck loop system that communicates with the hearing aid directly, or without the hearing aids using headphones. Personal listening systems involve the speaker wearing a microphone that will the transmit his or her voice to the hearing aid user with minimum interference.

2. Alerting Technologies:

Alert systems can be used to notify you or your deaf child when action is needed. If someone rings the doorbell or if a smoke alarm has been activated for example, alert systems can be used to notify you. Depending on your preference, notifications range from flashing lights, vibration, or auditory.

Popular notification events may include phone or video call alerts, doorbell, baby cry, weather, smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms. Most of the mainstream mobile phones nowadays have built in alerting systems for deaf and hard of hearing people, and there are some applications on the app store that work with mobile phones and record some popular voice around the person and an alarm will be activated when that sound is detected. In addition to mobile phones, there are also smart watches and bracelets that are used by people with hearing loss as alerting devices.

3.    Communication support technologies:

The improvement of technology has eased the way people communicate, and for the deaf community, technology helped them communicate with each other and with hearing people. Following are some technologies used for communication by deaf and hard of hearing people:

1. Video Relay Services

Video Relay (VRS) or Video Remote Interpretation (VRI) is a type of video telecommunication service that uses communication devices such as webcams or videophones to provide sign language and/or voice interpretation services.

In many cases, it may take some time to get an interpreter and they may not be available immediately. On the spot, the VRI will be providing an interpreter. The VRI has two parties, the deaf/hard hearing person who uses the VRI, and the on-screen interpreter.

The interpreter can be on a computer screen, videophone, web camera. The interpreter will use the audio while someone is speaking and the person is interpreting sign language to the deaf person, and then if the deaf / hard of hearing wants to say something they will sign to the interpreter and the interpreter will use his / her voice to relay the message.

2. Real-Time Text

Real-time text (RTT) transmits text that can be immediately read by the reader even before the sentence is finished. This is one of the ways the Deaf community uses to communicate. RTT enables the other person (receiver) to read the message immediately without waiting for the message to be written. The speaker will speak on an ongoing basis without interruptions and pauses. For a continuous conversation, the Deaf community uses RTT. TDD devices, sometimes called TTY devices, are commonly used for RTT via a regular phone call. Text over IP (VoIP) is a type of RTT that uses IP networks natively.

3. Sign language robots and bots

There are couple of robots and bots in the market that make communication with deaf people easier. Some Robots and Bots were developed specially to teach children sign language. There are some bots which are used on websites or apps to communicate text messages by converting them into sign language using a library stored locally or on the cloud. One example is “Bu Hamad” a Qatari real-time sign language interpreter avatar.

“Mada” supports leading Arab technology initiatives to develop solutions that serve people with hearing impairments. Individuals with hearing impairments demand for technological solutions that support Arabic sign language. One of these solutions is the 3D technology called “Avatar”, which was used to develop the virtual character “Bu Hamad” with the support of Mada Center.

Share this