نفاذ

تهدف نفاذ إلى أن تكون مصدراً أساسياً لنشر مقالات حول آخر الابتكارات في مجال نفاذ تكنولوجيا المعلومات. تصدر المجلة فصلياً باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية.

سبيكليز SpeakLiz وفيجين Vision: تطبيقات التواصل لذوي الإعاقة السمعية والبصرية

سبيكليز SpeakLiz وفيجين Vision: تطبيقات التواصل لذوي الإعاقة السمعية والبصرية

التحدي

يواجه العالم بأجمعه تحديًا قائمًا قلّما تعتبره المجتمعات والحكومات على أنه أولوية كبيرة، وهو تحقيق إمكانية النفاذ بشكل أكبر للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. ووفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، فإن 25% من سكان العالم يعانون من نوع من الإعاقة (السمعية، البصرية، الفكرية، الحركية)، بما يقرب من 2 مليار شخص. وعلى وجه التحديد، فيما يتعلق بالضعف السمعي والبصري، يواجه 760 مليون شخص (470 مليون من الصم و290 مليون من المكفوفين) تحديات كبيرة، مثل ضعف النفاذ إلى التعليم والعمل اللائق. وكل هذه القضايا تؤثر بشكل مباشر على استقلاليتهم.

SpeakLizهناك مشكلة كبيرة أخرى تتعلق بالأثر الاقتصادي لعدم النفاذ إلى تلك المجالات، فوفقًا للأمم المتحدة، يذهب أقل من 5% إلى المدرسة، وقد تكلف بعض الوسائل السمعية والبصرية ما يصل إلى 100,000 دولار أمريكي والتكلفة السنوية العالمية مجتمعة لعدم معالجة الصمم والعمى هي 1,400 مليار دولار أمريكي، وتشمل هذه التكلفة الضخمة تأثير عدم حصول كل هؤلاء الأشخاص على عمل لائق.

شهد القطاع العام للتكنولوجيا المساعدة نموًا في السنوات الأخيرة نظرًا لجوانب مهمة مثل انتشار الهواتف الذكية وتقنية الهاتف المحمول التي توفر الكثير من التحسينات على تجربة المستخدم. وبهذا المعنى، قام المطورون من جميع أنحاء العالم بخطوات مهمة لإنشاء أدوات جديدة يمكنها احتضان تكنولوجيا الأجهزة المحمولة الجديدة وميزات إمكانية النفاذ للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة.

الخلفيات والدوافع
شارك في تأسيس تالفو  Talovكل من هوغو جاكوم وكارلوس أوباندو، وهي شركة نشأت في الإكوادور، ثم فتحت في الولايات المتحدة ومن ذلك المكان الأخير، تسعى حاليًا إلى إيجاد طرق رقمية للتوسع في العالم، والتي تهدف إلى بناء التكنولوجيا لمساعدة الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات لتساعدهم بالتغلب على تحدياتهم. وعلى الرغم من أن “تالفو” هي شركة حديثة، إلا أن أصول تلك الرغبة في العمل في هذا المجال تعود إلى فترة أقدم.

بدأ كل شيء عندما كان المؤسسون زملاء في المدرسة الثانوية وأظهر لهم المدرس في ذلك الوقت لغة برمجة C ++، كان ذلك يعني لهم بداية هواية تطوير البرمجيات. وبعد سنوات عديدة، عندما كان المؤسسون المشاركون ينهون حياتهم المهنية الهندسية (درس هوغو الهندسة الصوتية وحصل على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال، ودرس كارلوس هندسة الميكاترونكس وأنهى الدراسات العليا في تدريس تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات)، بدأوا عملية بحث دون معرفة عمل بعضهم البعض.

وفي عام 2008، على وجه التحديد، بدأ هوغو في العمل على برنامج (تم تصميمه في البداية لنظامي macOS وWindows) يمكنه متابعة نفسه وهو يعزف على الجيتار في الوقت الفعلي لإنشاء الصور، ولكنه أدرك على الفور أنه بالإضافة إلى مجال الترفيه، كانت هذه الأداة ذلت قدرة قوية على تحقيق غرض اجتماعي وهو مساعدة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع على معرفة ما يحدث حولهم من أصوات من خلال الصور. كان كارلوس يعمل أيضًا في ترميز تطبيقات الجوال. وبالتوازي مع عملية البحث الخاصة بالمؤسسين المشاركين، كانا يعملان أيضًا كمدرسين في جامعتين مختلفتين في الإكوادور (هوغو في جامعة الأمريكتين وكارلوس في الجامعة الشمالية التقنية)، ولكن في أوائل عام 2016 (8 سنوات بعد البحث) التقيا بطريقة غير رسمية وقاما باطلاع بعضهم البعض على ما كانا يفعلانه طوال تلك السنوات. وبعد أسبوعين، قرر هوغو وكارلوس ترك وظائفهما الجامعية وبدء شركة جديدة من الصفر، وفي يناير 2017 تم إطلاق التطبيق الأول “سبيكليز” SpeakLiz (المصمم للأشخاص الذين يعانون من إعاقة سمعية). وفي أوائل عام 2019 تم إطلاق التطبيق الثاني “فيجين” Vision (المصمم للأشخاص الذين يعانون من إعاقة بصرية).

الحلول

الآن تطور هذان التطبيقان بعد العديد من التحديثات التي تم تحميلها باستمرار إلى متاجر تطبيقات الجوال. فهما يجمعان بين قوة الذكاء الاصطناعي والاستخدام اليومي للهاتف الذكي لمنح الأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع والبصر استقلالية أكبر في ممارسة أنشطتهم اليومية. يعمل كلا التطبيقان في الوقت الفعلي، بدون إنترنت ويحتويان 35 لغة متوافقة:
“سبيكليز” SpeakLiz للأشخاص الصم: يستخدم هذا التطبيق الذكاء الاصطناعي لفهم الأصوات المحيطة وتحديد المئات منها، وهذا مهم للأشخاص الصم للتعرف على أي صوت، من تنبيهات الطوارئ إلى بكاء الأطفال، وغير ذلك الكثير. يتعرف “سبيكليز” SpeakLiz أيضًا على الأصوات البشرية بلغات متعددة وينسخها في الوقت الفعلي دون الحاجة إلى الإنترنت. وأهم ميزة فيه هي فهم لغة الإشارة من خلال مستشعر إيماءات اليد الصغيرة (مثل الساعة) وتحويلها في الوقت الفعلي إلى صوت ونص متوافق مع العديد من اللغات، وهذا يسمح للمستخدمين الصم باستخدام لغة الإشارة الخاصة بهم مع الجميع، حتى مع الأشخاص الذين لا يعرفون لغة الإشارة.

تطبيق “فيجين” Vision (الرؤية) للمكفوفين: يستخدم هذا التطبيق الذكاء الاصطناعي والواقع المعزز مع تغذية الكاميرا الحية للهاتف لتحديد آلاف الأشياء ومسافتها، وفواتير الأموال للعديد من العملات العالمية، وقراءة النص متعدد اللغات في العديد من الأسطح، واكتشاف الألوان. كما يمكنه أن يساعد المكفوفين على الملاحة واستخدام الخرائط عندما الرغبة بالذهاب إلى أي مكان مفضل.

هوغو يكوم (الإكوادور، Hugo Jacome1986)

عازف جيتار كلاسيكي منذ الطفولة المبكرة، كان لديه أول اتصال بعلوم الكمبيوتر عندما كان مراهقًا وبدأ بالترميز.

رجل أعمال في مجالات الإنتاج الموسيقي وتطوير التكنولوجيا، كان مؤسسًا مشاركًا لاستوديو الموسيقى والتسجيل في ميدسايد MidSide وشركة أى تي بي إسATBS التقنية.

يتمتع هوغو بخلفية أكاديمية ومعرفة في الموسيقى استقاها من معهد جورج غيرشوين للموسيقى والهندسة الصوتية بالإضافة إلى ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال (تخصص إدارة الأعمال الدولية) من  جامعة الأمريكتين.

وهو أحد مؤسسي تالفو Talov  مع كارلوس أوباندو، ويعمل حاليًا كرئيس، كما يدير العلاقات العامة، وعمليات معالجة الإشارات الرقمية وتطوير نماذج الذكاء الاصطناعي.

اقتباسه:

“هل لديك خوف؟ حسنًا، افعل ذلك بالخوف. فقط اعمل لتحقيق ذلك!”

Share this

Nafath

Nafath aims to be a key information resource for disseminating the facts about latest trends and innovation in the field of ICT Accessibility. It is published in English and Arabic languages on a quarterly basis and intends to be a window of information to the world, highlighting the pioneering work done in our field to meet the growing demands of ICT Accessibility and Assistive Technology products and services in Qatar and the Arab region.

SpeakLiz & VisionCommunication Apps for People with Hearing and Visual Impairment.

SpeakLiz & VisionCommunication Apps for People with Hearing and Visual Impairment.

The Challenge

In general, and often not considered by societies
and governments as a high priority, the whole world has
a pending challenge: making it more accessible for people with disabilities. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), 25% of the world population has some kind of disability (hearing, visual, intellectual, physical), approximately 2 Billion people. Specifically, about hearing & visual impairment, 760 million people (470M deaf & 290M blind), face big challenges, like poor access to education and decent work. All these issues affect directly their independence.

SpeakLizAnother big trouble it’s in terms of the economic impact
of that lack of access to those fields, according to UN, less than 5% goes to school, some hearing or visual aids can cost up to USD 100.000 and the combined global annual cost of unaddressed deafness & blindness is USD 1.400 Billion, this huge cost includes the impact of not having all those people
in a decent job.

The overall sector of assistive technology has been growing in the last years due to important aspects like the rising of smartphones and mobile technology plenty of User Experience improvements. In that sense, developers of all the world have made important steps to create new tools that can embrace the new mobile technology and accessibility features for people with disabilities.

Backgrounds and motivations

Talov was co-founded by Hugo Jacome and Carlos Obando, it’s a company born in Ecuador, then opened in the US and from that last place, it’s currently seeking of digital ways to expand to the world, whose purpose is to build technology for assist people with disabilities in their challenges. Although Talov is a recent company, the origins of that desire of working in this field are older.

All started when co-founders were high school classmates and a teacher at that time showed them the C++ programming language, that meant the beginning of a software development hobby. Many years later, when co-founders were finishing their engineering careers (Hugo studied Acoustical Engineering and an MBA, Carlos studied Mechatronics Engineering and ICT teaching postgrad), they started a research process without knowing each’s other work.

Specifically, in 2008 Hugo started to work on a software (initially designed for macOS and Windows) that can follow him playing the guitar in real-time to create images, but almost immediately he realized that in addition to the entertainment field, this tool had a strong potential for a social purpose: assist people with hearing impairment to know through images, what’s happening around them in terms of sound. Carlos was also working in coding mobile apps. In parallel to that co-founder’s research process, they were also working as teachers in two different Ecuadorian Universities (University of the Americas in the case of Hugo and Northern Technical University in the case of Carlos), but then in early 2016 (8 years after being researching) they met casually and started to update each other about what they have been doing all those years. A couple of weeks later, Hugo and Carlos decide to quit their University jobs and start a new company from the scratch, and in January of 2017, the first app was launched: SpeakLiz (designed for people with hearing impairment). And, in early
2019 the second app was launched: Vision (designed for people with visual impairment).

The solutions

Now, these two apps have evolved after several updates that are continuously uploaded to mobile app stores; they combine the power of Artificial Intelligence with the daily use of the smartphone to give people with hearing and visual impairment more independence for their daily life activities. Both apps work in real-time, without Internet and have 35 languages compatibility:

SpeakLiz for deaf people
This app uses AI to understand the surrounding sounds and identify hundreds of them, this is important for deaf people to identify any sound, from emergency alerts to a baby crying, and many more. SpeakLiz also identifies human voices in many languages and transcribes them in real-time with no need for Internet. The most important feature is to understand sign language through a tiny hand gesture sensor (like a watch) and convert it in real-time to voice and text compatible with many languages, this allows deaf users to use their sign language with everyone, even with people that don’t know the sign language.

Vision for blind people
this app uses AI and Augmented Reality with the phone’s live camera feed to identify thousands of objects and their distance, money bills of many world currencies, multi-language text reading on many surfaces, detect colors. Also, it can assist blind people for maps navigation when they want to go to any favorite place.

Hugo JacomeHugo Jácome
(Ecuador, 1986)
Serial entrepreneur in the fields of music production and technology development, he was the co-founder of MidSide music & recording studio and ATBS, a technology company.

Hugo has an academic background in Music by George Gershwin Conservatory, Acoustical Engineering, and MBA (International Business specialized) by the University of the Americas.

He is one of Talov co-founders together with Carlos Obando and currently works as President, but also leads PR, Digital Signal Processing and Artificial Intelligence models development.

Share this