نفاذ

تهدف نفاذ إلى أن تكون مصدراً أساسياً لنشر مقالات حول آخر الابتكارات في مجال نفاذ تكنولوجيا المعلومات. تصدر المجلة فصلياً باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية.

تقنية التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف العربية في مكتبة قطر الوطنية

تقنية التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف العربية في مكتبة قطر الوطنية

التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف هو عملية استخراج النص من الصور، التي أصبحت شائعة من حيث الاستخدام والبحث، حيث إنها تشمل مجالات علمية متعددة، بما في ذلك معالجة الصور والتعلم الآلي واسترجاع المعلومات والذكاء الاصطناعي.

ومن منظور الشخص العادي، هي تمثل الطريقة الوحيدة لنسخ النص واستخدامه وفهرسته من صورة ممسوحة ضوئيًا. وتختلف الفوائد من عملية النسخ/ اللصق البسيطة والاقتباس والبحث والتعليق النصي التوضيحي ووضع العلامات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فهي تتماشى تمامًا مع الخوارزميات الحديثة لاستخراج النص والبحث الصرفي والترجمة التلقائية للنص وتلخيص النص بالإضافة إلى البيانات المرتبطة وأدوات الفهرسة.

ويعد استخدام صور التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف القيمة المضافة النهائية للمستندات الممسوحة ضوئيًا – فهو يضفي حيويةً على المستندات ويسمح للمستخدمين باكتشاف كل جزء من المعلومات المخزنة بداخلها.

ففي مكتبة قطر الوطنية تم تطوير تقنيات وخوارزميات متعددة لنص التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف، تتضمن هذه الأساليب كلاً من المشغلين البشريين ومجموعات تطوير البرمجيات، بالإضافة إلى واجهات برمجة التطبيقات. كما تم بناء نظامٍ دقيقٍ وقابل للتطوير من شأنه تبسيط العملية بطريقة فعالة، حيث ينسق الأدوار والمسؤوليات بين البشر والآلات للوصول إلى أقصى جودة للنص المستخرج.

ففي الوقت الذي نستخدم فيه تقنية التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف لمجموعة واسعة من اللغات، نشعر بالفخر بإنجازاتنا فيما يتعلق بالنص العربي رغم أنه لا يزال النص العربي يمثل تحديًا هائلاً منذ بداية خوارزميات التعلم الآلي، وحتى مع أحدث برامج التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف. فلقد كانت الأشكال والأحجام المتعددة للخط العربي، بالإضافة إلى علامات التشكيل واستخدام النقاط والأحرف المخطوطة وتغيير أشكال الأحرف بناءً على موقعها داخل الكلمة، تشكل كلها عوامل قللت من جودة النص الخاضع للتعرف الضوئي على الأحرف.

figure 01
الشكل 1: تحديات التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف العربية

لقد قامت المكتبة من خلال استخدام الأدوات والخوارزميات المناسبة ببناء مكتبات عالمية تغطي 99% من النص العربي المطبوع بناءً على الشكل والجودة والحجم، كما تم تصميم آلية سير عمل واضحة لتحسين جودة الصور في البداية من خلال زيادة عدد النقاط لكل بوصة، وصقل حواف الأحرف والصور وتحسين الطباعة بحيث تظهر واضحة وخالية من أي شوائب، وذلك من خلال عملية تحسين الصور هذه ومكتبات . كما أن دقة التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف أصبحت تحقق دقة في مستوى الأحرف بنسبة 99 بالمائة باللغة العربية.

figure 2
الشكل 2: تصنيف الشكل

ولقد سمح ذلك لمكتبة قطر الوطنية بفهرسة النص الناتج باستخدام محللات معجمية نصية عربية قوية ومعقدة، وتم تقديم ذلك للعملاء بمجرد نقرة واحدة فقط. كل ما يحتاجه المستفيدون هو الوصول إلى المستودع الرقمي للمكتبة والاستمتاع بميزة “البحث الداخلي”، والتي ستساعد بشكل كبير في تحسين جودة البحث في الدراسات العربية، مثل الفن والتاريخ والعلوم والفلسفة، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر.

figure 3

الشكل 3: سير عملية التعرف على النص العربي

تتيح أحدث وسائل الرقمنة بالمكتبة المحتوى العربي من مكتبة قطر الوطنية التراثية والمؤسسات الأخرى على الإنترنت، مما يزيد من توفر المحتوى العربي في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وتستفيد المكتبة من خبرة فريق دولي مدرب تدريبًا كاملًا ومختبرات مجهزة بأحدث التقنيات للقيام بعمليات مختلفة للحفظ الرقمي. كما تقدم المكتبة خدمات الرقمنة الواسعة والمسح الضوئي كبير الحجم وتصميم الصور والرقمنة في الموقع وإنشاء كتب النشر الإلكترونية E-Pub والتعرف الضوئي على الأحرف والتصوير ثلاثي الأبعاد والرقمنة السمعية والبصرية والحفظ على المدى الطويل.

بالإضافة إلى الجهود المتواصلة لرقمنة مجموعات المكتبة من الكتب النادرة والمخطوطات والخرائط والصور الفوتوغرافية، يعمل مركز الرقمنة بالمكتبة على عمليات الرقمنة ومشاريع التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف  باللغة العربية مع مجموعات التراث الأخرى في دولة قطر والمؤسسات الدولية، بما في ذلك:

  • مشروع جامعة نيويورك: يطبق هذا المشروع المشترك التعرف البصري على الأحرف على أكثر من 8000 كتاب عربي في مجموعات مكتبات جامعة نيويورك، والتي ستكون متاحة أيضًا على المنصات الإلكترونية لمكتبة قطر الوطنية.
  • قاموس الدوحة التاريخي للغة العربية: تساهم المكتبة في مجال التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف العربية، مما يساعد في البحث في أصل الكلمات العربية ومعانيها.
  • متحف الفن الإسلامي: تم تحديد أوجه التعاون الممكنة من خلال مذكرة تفاهم، بما في ذلك مشروع رقمنة 164 من أندر الكتب والمخطوطات في المتحف بالإضافة إلى مجموعات المكتبات، بما في ذلك التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف اللاتينية.
  • مجموعة خيول الشقب: قامت المكتبة برقمنة أكثر من 50,000 صورة من مجموعة خيول الشقب.
  • الأرشيف العثماني: تمت معالجة 1600 صورة رقمية لوثائق التراث المتعلقة بمنطقة الخليج من الأرشيف العثماني لإتاحتها على منصات المكتبة الإلكترونية.
  • مجموعة صور العمارة التقليدية في قطر: قامت المكتبة برقمنة مجموعة من 1793 صورة فوتوغرافية من بعثة أثرية فرنسية عام 1985 إلى قطر والتي أنتجت سجلاً شاملاً للعمارة التقليدية في القرن التاسع عشر.

يتبع مركز الرقمنة أفضل الممارسات والمبادئ التوجيهية الدولية، بما في ذلك: مبادرة المبادئ التوجيهية للرقمنة للوكالات الفيدرالية وإرشادات للصور المحافظة، وأيزو ISO- 19264، وإرشادات الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات ومؤسسات المكتبات (إفلا) لمشاريع الرقمنة. وقد مكن ذلك المكتبة من رقمنة 10,277367 صفحة من مجموعات مختلفة بما في ذلك 4,957,546 صفحة عربية من مجموعة التراث بمكتبة قطر الوطنية و2,782,016 صفحة من المجموعة العربية على الإنترنت لجامعة نيويورك.

تلعب المكتبات دورًا مهمًا في الحفاظ على التراث للأجيال القادمة، والرقمنة وتحرز عملياتها المتطورة تقدمًا كبيرًا في سبيل ضمان القيام بذلك. كما تلتزم مكتبة قطر الوطنية بالحفاظ على التراث ليس فقط في المنطقة ولكن على مستوى العالم الإسلامي ككل. لقد قطعنا شوطًا طويلاً في بناء عملية موثوقة لرقمنة المحتوى العربي باستخدام تقنية التعرف الضوئي على الأحرف لنشر المعرفة والتراث العربي الثري، ونحن ملتزمون بالعمل بجد لتحقيق هذا الهدف.

هاني عبد اللطيف الصاوي

رئيس وحدة الرقمنة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية

 

 

 

 

 

Share this

Nafath

Nafath aims to be a key information resource for disseminating the facts about latest trends and innovation in the field of ICT Accessibility. It is published in English and Arabic languages on a quarterly basis and intends to be a window of information to the world, highlighting the pioneering work done in our field to meet the growing demands of ICT Accessibility and Assistive Technology products and services in Qatar and the Arab region.

Arabic Optical Character Recognition (OCR) Technology at Qatar National Library

Arabic Optical Character Recognition (OCR) Technology at Qatar National Library

Arabic Optical Character Recognition (OCR) Technology at Qatar National LibraryOptical Character Recognition (OCR) is the practice of extracting text from images. The process itself is becoming popular in terms of usage and research, as it spans multiple areas of science, including image processing, machine learning, information retrieval, and artificial intelligence.

In layman’s terms, it is the only way to copy, use, and index the text from a scanned image. The benefits vary from a simple copy/paste process, citation, search within, text annotation, and tagging. Moreover, it perfectly meshes with the modern algorithms of text mining, morphological search, text automatic translation, text summarization, linked data, and indexing tools.

Using OCR images is the ultimate value-add to scanned documents—it brings the documents to life and allows users to discover every bit of information stored within.

At Qatar National Library, multiple techniques and algorithms to OCR text have been developed; these methods include both human operators and automatic SDKs (Software Development Kits) and APIs (Application Programming Interfaces). Adittionally, QNL built an accurate yet scalable system that will efficiently streamline the operation, as it harmonizes the roles and responsibilities between humans and machines to reach the maximum quality of the extracted text.

While we use OCR for a wide array of languages, we are most proud of our achievements with regards to the Arabic text. Since the start of machine learning algorithms, and even with the most modern OCR executables, Arabic text remains a formidable challenge. The multiple shapes and sizes of the Arabic font, in addition to its diacritics, dot usage, cursive characters, and the changing of character shapes based on their location inside a word were all factors that reduced the quality of the OCRed text.

figure 1
FIGURE 01  Arabic OCR challenges

With the proper tools and algorithms, QNL built universal libraries that cover 99% of the printed Arabic text based on shape, quality, and size and we have engineered a clear workflow to enhance the quality of the images at the start by raising the DPI, smoothing the edges, refining smudged printing and removing the noise. With this image-enhancement process and the trained machine learning libraries, our OCR accuracy achieves 99 percent character level accuracy in Arabic.

figure 2

FIGURE 02 shape classification

This allowed QNL to index the output text using robust yet sophisticated Arabic text lexical analyzers and offered that to our patrons with just a single click. Our patrons need only to access the Library’s Digital Repository and enjoy the “search within” feature, which is expected to immensely help improve the quality of research in Arabic studies, such as art, history, science, and philosophy, to name just a few.

figure 3

FIGURE 03 Arabic Text Recognition flow

The Library’s state-of-the-art digitization facility makes Arabic content from its Heritage Library and other institutions available online, increasing the availability of Arabic content worldwide.

The Library harnesses the expertise of a fully trained international team, and laboratories equipped with cutting-edge technology, to undertake various processes of digital preservation. The Library offers the services of bulk digitization, large-format scanning and image stitching, on-site digitization, E-Pub creation, Optical Character Recognition (OCR), 3D Photography, audiovisual digitization, and long-term preservation.

In addition to ongoing efforts to digitize the Library’s collections of rare books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs, the Library’s Digitization Center is working on digitization and Arabic OCR projects with other heritage collections in Qatar and international institutions, including:

  • New York University (NYU) project: This joint project applies optical character recognition to more than 8,000 Arabic books in NYU library collections, which will also be available on Qatar National Library’s online platforms.
  • Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic Language: The Library contributes to the field of optical recognition of Arabic characters, which will assist research on the etymology and meaning of Arabic words.
  • Museum of Islamic Art: A Memorandum of Understanding outlined possible collaborations, including a project to digitize 164 of the rarest books and manuscripts in the museum as well as its and library collections, including the Latin OCR.
  • Al Shaqab Horse Collection: the Library digitized over 50,000 images from Al Shaqab’s Horse Collection.
  • Ottoman Archive: 1,600 digital images of heritage documents related to the Gulf region from the Ottoman Archive have been processed, to be made available on the Library’s online platforms.
  • Qatar Traditional Architecture Photographic Collection: The Library digitized a collection of 1793 photographs from a 1985 French archeological expedition to Qatar that produced a comprehensive record of traditional 19th-century architecture.

 

The Digitization Center follows international best practices and guidelines, including the Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI), Metamorfoze Preservation Imaging Guidelines, ISO- 19264, and the IFLA guidelines for digitization projects. This enabled the Library to digitize 10,277,367 pages from various collections including  4,957,546 Arabic pages from Qatar National Library’s Heritage Collection, and 2,782,016 pages from the Online Arabic Collection of New York University.

Libraries play an important role in preserving heritage for future generations, and digitization and its sophisticated processes and operations go a long way in ensuring this is done. Furthermore, Qatar National Library is committed to the preservation of heritage not only of the region but of the Islamic world as a whole. We have come a long way in building a reliable process for digitization and OCR Arabic content for the benefit of spreading rich Arabic knowledge and heritage; we are committed to working harder to fulfill that goal.

Hany A. Elsawy Abdellatif

Head of Digitization Unit at Qatar National Library

 

 

 

 

 

Share this